Why You Should Travel To Japan For Your First Solo Female Trip

I took my longest solo journey to Japan this past November and I have
to say, it was more than incredible. I never felt unsafe, everyone was
so respectable, and getting around (once you got the hang of it) was
surprisingly easy.

I did little to no research before I left for Japan and hit the ground
running, I wanted to see as much as I could and experience as much as
I could fit into a day. I landed in Tokyo and stayed in Narita a few
days before heading North to Niigata. After Niigata, I took the
Shinkansen to Kyoto, then onto Hiroshima, Fukuoka and finally Okinawa.

At first glance, the rail system in Japan is terrifying. There are
usually no English characters and most people don’t speak English
whatsoever, so asking for help can be tricky. There were definitely a
few times when I got onto a train and just hoped for the best, not
entirely sure of where I was headed. But, to be fair, it is fairly
straightforward and everything is conveniently color-coded with routes
that overlap, so if you do happen to get onto the wrong train, you’re
usually only a few stops off.

There was one day in particular in Kyoto where I felt I finally
“mastered” the trains. Having only ridden the trains for about a week,
I was nowhere near mastery but I felt confident, and that’s what
matters, right?

Traveling alone as a female, safety is always a concern. In Japan, in
the month that I was there alone, I honestly and truly never felt
unsafe. Even carrying all of my worldly possessions on my back, I
never felt that gripping sense of fear. There was a night, waiting to
catch an overnight bus to Hiroshima, and the bus wasn’t set to depart
until 10:30pm, so I was wandering around alone for a few hours while
it was dark and if anything, I felt like I was more respected than
anything. Men would bow their heads and make eye contact as if to say,
“nothing to worry about.”

What’s so wonderful about traveling alone is dictating your own
schedule. You can wake up when you please, you can do whatever suits
you during the day, and you can go to bed as early or as late as you
want to. There were days where I packed so much in, I was dizzy by the
end of the day and then there was a day in Ueno, where I had no energy
and so I stayed in my hostel, drank coffee, read books and watched
netflix. You can do whatever you want, and it’s so freeing.

All in all, Japan is a great place to start your adventures as a solo
female traveler. The food is iconic and delicious, the sights are
historic and stunning, and the people are warm and respectful. So, go!

Leave a Reply

