The Truth Or Untruth About Traveling Alone As A Female

Everyone has their own opinion about female solo travelers. The label isn’t necessary, they shouldn’t travel by themselves at all, they play it too safe, they’re awe-inspiring.

Regardless of personal opinions, I want to talk about a conversation I had with my younger sister and mom. We watched an amazingly well done video by a man and his friend who traveled throughout Central and South America in a Jeep. No hotels, limited food and water, they just went.

As we’re watching the video my sister just says, “I wish we could do that as women.” It struck me. Because for all intensive purposes, we could if we wanted to but on the other hand, there’s something daunting and frightening and too risky about it all.

The idea of getting into a car and just driving sounds appealing to me but once you start to really think about the logistics of it all, it becomes hazy. What happens if the car breaks down? I don’t know how to do any sort of car repair. What happens if I’m in the middle of nowhere and can’t find my way back? And the always asked, What if I get kidnapped or stolen or sold into white slavery?

They’re pretty presumptuous questions to ask but do they have a point?

Do women have a bigger target as travelers or are we just putting that on ourselves? Are we allowing ourselves to be encapsulated by this label?

I don’t know the answer, I’m just intrigued by the whole idea of it all. The only way to end this is by saying, if you feel you’re ready for whatever it is you’re preparing for, then you’re ready.

Leave a Reply

